Fashion Friday: Mission Mismatch

“When you don’t dress like everyone else,

you don’t have to think like everyone else.”

-Iris Apfel

Happy Friday!

                I don’t fancy myself a fashionista, or chic, or anything like that. I’m just a clothes hoarder. Back when I was a broke college student, I got into the habit of shopping at thrift stores. I wasn’t originally thrifting as a hobby or to create a signature eclectic style; I was trying to build a practical and affordable wardrobe on a limited budget.

Throughout my thrifting journey, I’ve found some amazing items that have lasted years in my own wardrobe, as well as however long they were part of whoever’s past wardrobe. I have vintage and used clothing that has outlasted brand name retail items I’ve purchased lately.

As I said, however, I’ve become a bit of a clothes hoarder. It’s unsurprisingly easy when you can get six clothing items for under $10! In a creative way to go through my wardrobe and make use of some forgotten and underused clothing items, I’m going to have fun experimenting with different looks throughout the week and sharing them on my blog!

While thrifting definitely started out of need, I must say that I enjoy the process of building original outfits instead of being able to look at pictures or mannequins and just buy ready-made looks. There’s something so liberating in that individuality and expression of developing a personal style.

Leopard Matches… Everything?

                So I recently managed to catch these super cute leopard-print Christian Siriano (hands down my favorite Project Runway contestant in the show’s history, btw) pumps on clearance at Payless for $10. With a 20% off coupon, I snagged them for $8.

image2

Originally, I was just going to pair them simply with a pair of jeans and a black sweater for a chic look with a pop of print. But one thing I’ve always wanted to do was experiment with mixing prints. I’m not the most fearless or fashionable person, so I wasn’t sure if I had the confidence to pull off the look. But I figured, why not take a chance and pair those pumps with this gorgeous thrifted Old Navy blazer, from their Fall 2005 collection!

image1-1

I think I got it for around $5 at my local CHKD Thrift Store a month or so ago, and I absolutely love the print and corduroy fabric!

                Add in a bracelet I got from a local Goodwill for $2.50, a vintage burgundy leather Coach belt I thrifted for $1.50 (I’ve had it for at least 4 years, and it’s held up amazingly being worn at least twice a week since), a basic black tank top, and some thrifted Mossimo jeans (don’t remember how much they were, but definitely no more than $7.)

image4

I ended up pairing it with a simple necklace that belonged to my mom, and some earrings I’ve had for a few years and forgot where they came from. It’s criminal in my book to ever wear leopard print without a red lippie, and here I’m wearing Urban Decay’s “Bad Blood” topped with NYX “Cherry Skies” Lip Suede.

image5

 

My whole outfit’s price tag from head to toe? Approximately $35.

Mission Mismatch: Accomplished.

Leave a Reply

